Skip navigation

27th April 2007 - Following the FTTH Council Europe’s Annual General Assembly held in Brussels last week, members are pleased to announce Joeri Van Bogaert as newly elected President of the board. The Council is also calling upon the industry to meet an ambitious target of “a 10 fold increase of new connections over the next 3-5 years.“

Joeri Van Bogaert, comments, “ With FTTH deployment now recognised as ‘the choice’ for real broadband access within Europe, and as major implementations of the technology begin to approach, the Council has decided to shift to the next gear, in order to ensure that the decision makers across Europe choose FTTH as their access technology.”

The FTTH environment has significantly changed since the FTTH Council’s conception three years ago and influenced by the significant increase in the dynamics behind the European market, the Council has announced its organisational restructure. The new committee structure, agreed at the General Assembly is as follows:

- Deployment & Operation: Researching infrastructure and architecture issues within an economical dimension. Including active and passive technology, energy consumption, environmental topics, rights of way and maintenance.

- Network and Service Revenues: Focusing on all topics surrounding end-user offerings such as services, contents, ARPU, end-user expectations, and customer-support.

- Market Intelligence: Expanding the existing market development focus to include economical and macro-economic information and private funding topics for investors and deployers.

- Public Policy & Regulation: Positioning Council proposals toward the European Commission, addressing policy makers to convince them that FTTH is necessary for a competitive Europe.

- Communications Committee: External and internal communications of the Council.

- Editorial Board: Overarching messaging, positioning and content development.

In addition there will be several ad-hoc working groups, such as the already established FTTH sustainable development group.

The full list of members of the board is as follows:

President of the Board: Joeri Van Bogaert, Leoni NBG Fiber Optics

Treasurer: Jan De Groot, OFS

Board of Directors:

- Jean-Pierre Lartigue, Alcatel-Lucent

- Wolfgang Fischer, Cisco

- Tadhg Leonard, Corning

- Christian Emborg, DKT

- Tibor van Melsem Kocsis, Emtelle

- Mats Hansson, Ericsson

- Jean-Pierre Coudreuse, Mitsubishi Electric

In addition, the FTTH Council Europe has extended a public call for candidates for the position of a full-time Director General. The position is designed to develop continuity in the work of the FTTH Council as it moves forward into what is perhaps the most crucial time for European FTTH.

A full job description for the General Director position is available at the FTTH Council Europe secretariat:

Submissions should be sent to by May 16th.


Notes to Editors

Former President, Hartwig Tauber, comments, “It was a pleasure for me to work with the FTTH Council Europe in the past two and a half years. I want to thank all members for their support and a special thank you to the board members and committee chairs for the good cooperation. With the changes decided at the general assembly the Council is ready for the challenges of the future”

About the Fibre to the Home (FTTH) Council Europe

The FTTH Council Europe is a market development organisation with a mission to accelerate the availability of fibre-based, broadband access networks to consumers and businesses. With few exceptions, Europe lags well behind the US and Asian tiger economies in the availability of high-speed broadband services (10 Mbps and upwards). The Council believes that the development of fibre-based access networks is fundamental to the deployment of such services, and hence to reaping their benefits for European citizens and businesses.

The Council's charter is to work with European governments, policy-makers and opinion leaders qualify and quantify the benefits to be gained from fibre-based broadband access networks, and to identify and help to erode the barriers to their development. Council members are drawn from the telecoms (vendors), broadband content and academic sectors.

For more information contact:

Jennifer Manning/ David Evans
Cohesive Communications
+44 (0) 1291 626200

This press release was distributed by ResponseSource Press Release Wire on behalf of Cohesive Communications in the following categories: Business & Finance, Computing & Telecoms, for more information visit