Skip navigation

Male shoppers boost festive sales at beauty specialist Sally with last-minute gift buys for their nearest and dearest

With just three full shopping days left until Christmas Day, sales at high street retailer Sally have received an unexpected last minute boost from men searching for the most desirable beauty and styling brands for their significant other.

The beauty specialist has noted a 57% increase in sales on the last Monday before Christmas compared to last year, with big branded gifts for nails and hair proving to be most popular. The number of male shoppers coming in to store for advice and gift recommendations doubled year on year with many saying they don’t want to buy a usual fragrance gift, and some saying they didn’t want to leave their present panic purchasing until Christmas Eve.

Commercial Director Warren Scarr says: “For men, buying gifts can be like asking for directions. Very few will actually seek advice and they’ll rarely stop to ask questions..But even we are surprised at how many men were actually pondering yesterday and asking for gift advice in our stores. In a break from tradition, we expect these significant sales to continue until we close on Christmas Eve.”

The top 10 selling Christmas gifts at Sally on 'Man-Monday' are as follows. All are available from Sally stores nationwide and www.sallyexpress.com until stock runs out:

Red Carpet Manicure Pro Kit - £89.99
TIGI Bed Head Party Girl gift set - £29.99
Salon Services LED Curing Lamp (36w) - £95.99
OPI All Stars Mini 10 Pack - £14.50
Argan Secret Magnum Edition - £24.98
Wahl Super Taper & Super Trimmer Combo Pack – 109.99
Babyliss PRO Perfect Curl Limited Edition Red - £111.98
 
Further information/samples/images from: Sparkle PR Ltd Kelly Chin/Carly Robertson/ Jackie Huggett/ Wendy Campling /Nicola Boniface/Sabrina Stubbs
Tel. 0208 256 0570/ 0208 256 0572/ 0208 2560574/0208 256 0576/ 0208 686 3290/0208 686 3141
Email: kelly@sparkle-pr.com; carly@sparkle-pr.com; jackie@sparkle-pr.com; wendy@sparkle-pr.com, nicola@sparkle-pr.com; sabrina@sparkle-pr.com

This press release was distributed by ResponseSource Press Release Wire on behalf of Sparkle PR in the following categories: Men's Interest, Women's Interest & Beauty, Retail & Fashion, for more information visit http://pressreleasewire.responsesource.com/about.