Skip navigation
Skip navigation
You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser.

• Over 400 guests applaud winners at prestigious awards ceremony

The Institute of Sales & Marketing Management (ISMM), established 40 years ago and dedicated to promoting standards of excellence within Sales and Marketing, announced the winners of its nine BESMA award categories, at an exclusive champagne reception and gala dinner held at The Royal Lancaster Hotel, London on 26 January 2006.

Over 400 senior figures from industry and academia attended the ‘Oscars’ of the sales and marketing industry to recognise outstanding achievement in the UK. The evening awards ceremony recognised both individual and team effort. On the night over eighteen trophies were presented to UK Sales and Marketing professionals who have demonstrated business excellence in the last 12 months.

The winners were:

Sales & Marketing Director of the Year

Sponsored by: Tack International
Winner: Chris Brindley, NatWest
Runner up: Mitch Lucas, KPSS UK Ltd

Sales & Marketing Team of the Year

Sponsored by: Proposal Genie
Winner: Team from Proctor & Gamble led by Don McKernan
Runner up: Team from BT Global led by Mike Arnavutian

Sales Professional of the Year

Sponsored by: Campaignmaster
Winner: Paul Dixon, Zurich Municiple
Runner up: Andrew Watkins, Merial Animal Health

New Sales Professional of the Year

Sponsored by: Wyndeham Press
Winner: Linda Macaskill, The Negotiation Academy
Runner up: Oliver Wilde, Lyreco

Small business Sales Professional of the Year

Sponsored by:
Winner: Jennifer Celerier, Modern Networks
Runner up: Matthew Knibbs, ADM Computing

Sales Presenter of the Year

Sponsored by: Mean Fiddler
Winner: Michael Say, KPSS UK Ltd
Runner up: Roddy Kohn, Sack Me First

Sales Manager of the Year

Sponsored by: Calor
Winner: Chris Wilkinson, IN2FOCUS SDS Ltd
Runner up: Laura Vincent, IN2FOCUS SDS Ltd

Sales Trainer of the Year

Sponsored by: LMI
Winner: Krys Grundniewicz & Mervyn Myers, KPMG
Runner up: Peter Rose, DHL

ISMM Student of the Year

Sponsored by: ISMM
Winner: Jayne Storey, Gatehead College
Runner up: Paul Hardwick, Calor Gas Sales Academy (Solihull College)

Sheila Watson-Challis, President of the ISMM commented on the evening: "We congratulate the winners and thank everyone who entered the BESMA 2005 awards. We are delighted with the commitment, enthusiasm and above all the quality of all the entries, the standard has been exceptionally high.”

“Winning a BESMA is a tough challenge. It demands that candidates fulfil the industry’s most demanding criteria, demonstrate an outstanding track record, and complete a rigorous practical examination. We believe that BESMA is a vital step on the professional and personal development ladder, which will push the standards for future generations of sales professionals.”


Editors Notes:

About The Institute of Sales & Marketing Management (ISMM)

Founded in 1966, The ISMM is the UK’s only body for Sales professionals. The ISMM works to enhance the prestige of Sales as a career and improve the skills of its members. The Institute has a commitment to the education and representation of both the profession and its members. The ISMM is also responsible for establishing benchmarks of professionalism in Sales and is the only membership body accredited by the Qualifications and Curriculum Authority (QCA) to award nationally-recognised qualifications in Selling and Sales Management.

For further details on entering BESMA 2006 visit the Institute of Sales & Marketing Management website, or telephone the Institute on 01582 840001.


This press release was distributed by ResponseSource Press Release Wire on behalf of C8 Consulting in the following categories: Business & Finance, Computing & Telecoms, for more information visit