Skip navigation
Skip navigation
You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser.

British Hairdressing Awards 2006 Finalists Announced

Hairdressers Journal International is delighted to announce the finalists for the nine regional and six specialist categories for the British Hairdressing Awards 2006.

In 1985, the British Hairdressing Awards - presented by the Hairdressers Journal International and sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional - were launched to reward hairdressers who were pushing the boundaries of hairdressing forward, creating and setting the trends and excelling in this competitive industry. Today, the British Hairdressing Awards are cited as the “Oscars’ of the hairdressing world.

To enter the competition, hairdressers working in salons throughout the United Kingdom have to submit four images, which fulfil the criteria set. Depending on the hairdressers location, they can enter their regional category – Eastern, London, Midlands, North Eastern, North Western, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Southern or Wales & South West. If their talents lie within a particular discipline, they are also able to enter one of the six specialist categories – Afro Hairdresser of the Year, Artistic Team of the Year, Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year, Men’s Hairdresser of the Year, Newcomer of the Year or Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year.

For the first round judging, a distinguished panel made up of members of the British Hairdressing Awards Hall of Fame (hairdressers who have won their region or specialist category three times) judge all entries independently, with all entries remaining anonymous, and all marks counted and compiled by an independent firm of auditors. From the first round judging, six finalists are selected in each category. They have to then produce a second set of images, which is added to the first set and judged in the second round. To judge the final six in each category, Hall of Fame members are joined by leading UK hairdressers and selected members of the press, and once again the judging process is independent and anonymous, with the marks collated by independent auditors.

In addition to the 15 regional and specialist categories, the most hotly contested award is for the British Hairdresser of the Year title. Entry to this award is by nomination only, and in 2006 there are six nominees for the title - Andrew Barton, Antoinette Beenders, Errol Douglas, Akin Konizi, Angelo Seminara and Richard Ward.

“Each year the standard of entries in all categories becomes more creative and inspirational,” comments Publisher/Editor-in-Chief of Hairdressers Journal International, Jayne Lewis-Orr. “British hairdressing is perceived throughout the world as being the best, and the British Hairdressing Awards recognise and reward creativity and excellence in all hairdressing skills.”

The British Hairdressing Awards has significantly raised the profile of British hairdressing both in the UK and overseas. Winners of all the categories can enjoy the recognition from their peers along with an increased media profile in their local area and nationally.

The winners will be announced at the biggest event in the hairdressing industry’s calendar, a glittering awards dinner presented by a well-known celebrity – the British Hairdressing Awards at the Grosvenor House Hotel, London on Monday 27th November 2006.

2006 British Hairdressing Awards Finalists

Regional Finalists

Eastern Hairdresser of the Year
Claire Dawson HOB Salons
Mia Dunham The Gallery
Scott Halsey Clipso, Watford
Mark Leeson Mark Leeson Hair, Body and Mind
Simon Raby Toni & Guy, Peterborough
Barrie Stephen Barrie Stephen

London Hairdresser of the Year
Nick Bland Harringtons
Jamie & Sally Brooks Brooks & Brooks
Esti Carton Harringtons
Errol Douglas Errol Douglas
Stephen Glendinning Essensuals, Southampton Street
Desmond Murray Desmond Murray

Midlands Hairdresser of the Year
Nick Malenko & Royston Blythe Royston Blythe
Stephen Fordham Essensuals, Rugby
Tim Scott-Wright Lisa Shepherd Midlands
Sean & James Tetlow The Colour Room
Mark Theaker Mark Scott
James Whyte Jason Lea

North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year
Jen Deighton Toni & Guy Sunderland
Robert Eaton Russell Eaton
Glynn Hayden Toni & Guy, Doncaster
Marcus King Hooker and Young, Wynard
Neville Ramsay Ramsay Johnson
Michael Young Hooker and Young, Jesmond

Northern Ireland Hairdresser of the Year
Noel Burns Zuni Hair
Simon Houston Simon Houston Hairdressing
Clive Johnston Clive Alexander
Keith Kane Keith Kane Hair International
Denise McClusky Michele International
Joanne O’Neill Joanne O’Neill Hair Design

North Western Hairdresser of the Year
James Bacon Andrew Collinge Hairdressing
Harry Boocock The Hair Studio
Barbara Daley & Lisa Rhead Barbara Daley Hair and Beauty
Angie James Toni & Guy, Liverpool
Sharon Peake Ethos Hairdressing
Pat Wood Saks Hairdressing and Beauty

Scottish Hairdresser of the Year
Neil Barton Hair by JFK
Tracey Devine Angels
Colin McAndrew Medusa
Suzie McGill Rainbow Room International
Kay McIntyre McIntyre Hair Salon
Austen Thomson Paterson SA

Southern Hairdresser of the Year
Sam Burnett Rush, Sutton
John Castelli Twist Hair
Antony Edge Toni & Guy, Bluewater
Tina Farey Rush, Croydon
David Lopez Clippers
Leonardo Rizzo Sanrizz, Guildford

Wales & South West Hairdresser of the Year
Dominic Capel & Lara Johnson Lara Johnson Lifestyle
Rachel Brown Blushes
Daniel Neaves Daniel K Neaves Hair
Louise Smith Essensuals Wiltshire
Sally Stevens Central Studio
Vicky Turner Goldsworthy’s Hairdressing

Specialist Categories

Afro Hairdresser of the Year
Errol Douglas Errol Douglas
Junior Green Junior Green Hair and Beauty
Jacqueline Ngalam Hebe Hair and Beauty
Claire Rothstein Bloww
Sandra Webb Hype Coiffure
Marlon Wright M&M Hair Academy

Artistic Team of the Year
Rush Croydon
Aveda Advanced Academy London
Trevor Sorbie London
Hooker and Young Gosforth
Toni & Guy London
Harringtons London

Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year
Nick Malenko & Royston Blythe Royston Blythe
Stephen Carey Stephen Carey
Johanna Cree Brown Trevor Sorbie
Efi Davies Toni & Guy, Covent Garden
Gary Hooker & Michael Young Hooker and Young
Desmond Murray Desmond Murray

Men’s Hairdresser of the Year
Carl Blake Jacks of London
Louis Byrne Brooks and Brooks
Richard Hannah Toni & Guy Kensington
Desmond Murray Desmond Murray
Claire Rothstein Bloww
Mark Smith Strangeways

Newcomer of the Year
Alfie Booth Andrew Collinge Hairdressing
Mel Eubanks M&M Hair Academy
Ben Ferris Goldsworthy Hairdressing
Jay Perera Sanrizz, Hayhill
Kelly Smith Boons
Emma Steven Lisa Shepherd Midlands

Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year
Paola Barattini Toni & Guy, Mayfair
Karen Dodds Cutting Room Creative
Robert Eaton Russell Eaton
Francesco Fontana Essensuals
Gary Hooker & Michael Young Hooker and Young
Jo O’Neill Toni & Guy, Henrietta Street

For press enquiries on the British Hairdressing Awards please contact Alison Jameson, Neill Mabbott or Rachael Ross at Alison Jameson Consultants on 00 44 131 621 7210, fax 00 44 131 621 7215 or email;

This press release was distributed by ResponseSource Press Release Wire on behalf of AJC93 in the following categories: Children & Teenagers, Men's Interest, Health, Leisure & Hobbies, Women's Interest & Beauty, for more information visit