Skip navigation
Skip navigation
You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser.

Winners of the CEDR Excellence in Alternative Dispute Resolution Awards 2006 are announced.

At an award ceremony for 250 figures from the ADR and legal community held at Vinopolis in London last night, the seven CEDR awards for excellence were announced. In their 12-year history the 2006 Awards achieved the greatest number of entries and largest number of finalists – 21 in total.

In order to fully recognise the quality of all the finalists CEDR will, for the first time in the history of these Awards, be sending out certificates to each finalist to acknowledge their own achievement in being short-listed.

SJ Berwin, winner of the Professions Category, the judges believed has been one of the longest-standing supporters of mediation through its own ADR Group, formed in 1996 under the leadership of David Shapiro, who is one of the field’s most distinguished mediators.

In the Innovation Category the judges felt that the Department for Constitutional Affairs showed real inspiration in creating the Mediation Helpline, focused on benefiting parties, which since its creation has achieved an 85 per cent settlement success rate.

For the Public Sector Award the judges thought that the Patent Office had made an extraordinary achievement in introducing ADR into its work in resolving disputes. It showed leadership and innovation, with the ability to impact how an entire sector will manage its conflicts.

In the International Category the judges were impressed by the International Financial Corporation’s substantial project to introduce ADR in Pakistan to tackle a massive backlog of 1.1 million civil cases waiting to be heard.

The Publication Award went to Chris Newmark from Baker & McKenzie and Anthony Monaghan of Herbert Smith for Butterworths Mediators on Mediation, a landmark publication that drew together articles by 22 mediators to show the UK the level of maturity this field has now reached.

The Business Award was won by Batmark Ltd, led by Michael Leathes, for true leadership in driving the use of ADR within the trademark industry. The judges felt Batmark’s use of internal ADR training at all levels and its adoption of ADR into their business was truly astonishing.

The Tony Curtis Award for Achievement by a Young Person was went to Jayne Singer of CMS Cameron McKenna impressed the judges because at the age of 25 she successfully mapped out mediation across all the member states of the European Union and has since used that experience in her work.

The 2006 CEDR Awards mark an eventful two years in Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR). Since the last CEDR Awards in 2004 the market for mediation has grown by 35 per cent, there have been landmark rulings such as Halsey and Burchell along with the new Pre-Action Protocols of the CPR compelling consideration of ADR.

ADR is also growing internationally - with its adoption in European civil justice and elsewhere in the world, mediators are increasingly being called into international disputes. New sectors are also adopting the use of mediation. To reflect these developments the 2006 Awards included two new categories – innovation and international achievement.

Karl Mackie, the Chief Executive of CEDR commented, “The response to the 2006 Awards has made us very excited to see the rapid progress made across the field. The quality of the finalists, in addition to sheer number of entries that did not make the shortlist, reflects the truly impressive developments being undertaken in Alternative Dispute Resolution every day.”

The eminent panel of independent judges with a formidable range of experience was made up of Robert Ivens of Marks & Spencer, Mr Justice Lightman of the High Court, Phillip Naughton QC of 3 Serjeant's Inn Chambers, Sir Brian Neill of 20 Essex Street Chambers (and Chair of the Civil Mediation Council), Joanna Page of Allen & Overy, David Pearson of The Treasury Solicitors and Deborah Prince of Which? (The Consumers' Association).

Category Winners
-SJ Berwin – Winner
-Fenwick Elliott – Runner up
-Herbert Smith – Runner up
- Lewis Silkin – Runner up
-Department for Constitutional Affairs – Winner -Eversheds – Runner up -Rhys Clift (Hill Taylor Dickinson) – Runner up Public Sector:
–The Patent Office – Winner
-Manchester Small Claims In Court – Runner up -Nabarro Nathanson – Runner up
-International Finance Corporation – Winner -Hammonds – Runner up -The International Trade Centre – Runner up
-Mediators on Mediation by Chris Newmark (Baker and McKenzie) and Anthony Monahan (Herbert Smith) - Winner -EU Mediation Atlas by Jayne Singer – Runner up
–Batmark Ltd – Winner
-Mediation And Training Alternatives – Runner up Nominet – Runner up Young Achiever:
-Jayne Singer (CMS Cameron McKenna) – Winner -Felicity Howatt (Denton Wilde Sapte) – Runner up -Beverley Ruth Tarr, Chicago – Runner up


Notes to editors

About CEDR
The Centre for Effective Dispute Resolution is the leader in the development of neutral-assisted dispute resolution. It is a non-profit organisation and its mission is to encourage and develop cost effective dispute prevention and dispute resolution in commercial and public sector disputes and in civil litigation. CEDR operates in the UK and internationally and has been instrumental in helping to bring mediation into the heart of business practice and into the judicial system. CEDR Mediator Accreditation is recognised as an international standard.

For further information please contact:
Andy Rogers
Telephone: +44(0)20 7536 6000

This press release was distributed by ResponseSource Press Release Wire on behalf of Centre for Effective Dispute Resolution (CEDR) in the following categories: Public Sector, Third Sector & Legal, for more information visit