Skip navigation
Skip navigation
You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser.
British Hairdressing Awards logo

The anticipation and waiting for hairdressers throughout the UK will shortly be over, as on Monday 24th November at a glittering awards ceremony held at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London’s Park Lane, the winners of the 2008 British Hairdressing Awards will be announced.

The British Hairdressing Awards is the ‘Oscars’ of the British hairdressing industry, an industry that is envied throughout the world for its creativity and originality. Now in its 24th year, the British Hairdressing Awards presented by Hairdressers Journal International and sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional celebrate the best in British hairdressing recognising and rewarding hairdressers throughout the UK within the nine regional categories, six specialist categories including Newcomer of the Year, Men’s Hairdresser of the Year and the Schwarzkopf Professional Colour Technician of the Year, and the coveted British Hairdresser of the Year title. This year Antoinette Beenders, Errol Douglas, Gary Hooker & Michael Young, Akin Konizi, Angelo Seminara and Phil Smith all hope to follow in the footsteps of industry icon’s Trevor Sorbie, Charles Worthington, Andrew Collinge, Nicky Clarke and John Frieda to win the prestigious title of British Hairdresser of the Year.

Following a cocktail reception, a gourmet dinner and entertainment - the sixteen regional and specialist category awards are announced by a leading television personality. This year the British Hairdressing Awards Hall of Fame will have four new inductees – hairdressers who have won their category three times. London salon owner Errol Douglas for Afro Hairdresser of the Year, the Trevor Sorbie International Art Team for Artistic Team of the Year, Tim Scott-Wright from Lisa Shepherd Midlands for Midlands Hairdresser of the Year and Robert Eaton from Russell Eaton in Barnsley for North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year.

Publisher/Editor-in-Chief of Hairdressers Journal International Jayne Lewis-Orr adds, “Each year the standard of work gets better and better and this year is no exception. We are so proud that British hairdressing has tremendous standing within the rest of the world and the British Hairdressing Awards prove that British is definitely best! “

The Finalists for the 2008 British Hairdressing Awards:

Regional Finalists:

Eastern Hairdresser of the Year

Simon Cawthorne, Cawthorne and Wright, Rutland
Sharon Cox, Sanrizz, St.Albans
Paul Falltrick, Paul Falltrick, Romford
Terri Kay, Mark Leeson Hair, Body & Mind, Mansfield
Anne McGuigan, Anne McGuigan, Bedfordshire
Karen Scantlebury, Ciente, Berkhamstead

London Hairdresser of the Year

Louis Byrne, Adee Phelan, London
Errol Douglas, Errol Douglas, London
Karine Jackson, Karine Jackson Ltd, London
Richard Mannah, Toni & Guy, Kensington
Desmond Murray, Desmond Murray, London
Cos Sakkas, Toni & Guy, Covent Garden

Midlands Hairdresser of the Year

Nick Malenko & Royston Blythe, Royston Blythe, Compton
Anya Dellicompagni, Francesco Group, Eccleshall
Timothy Lawton, TPL Hairdressing, Nantwich
Peter Prosser, Peter Prosser Hairdressing, Hereford
Emma Steven, Lisa Shepherd Salons, Sutton Coldfield
James Whyte, Soul Hair, Chester

North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year

Jen Deighton, Toni & Guy, Sunderland
Paul Ferguson, Hooker & Young, Gosforth
Susan Hall, Reds Hair and Beauty, Sunderland
Marcus King, Hooker & Young, Wynyard
Neville Ramsay, Ramsay & Johnson, Sunderland
Katrina Ashton and Lisa Shaw, Headlines Elite, Sheffield

Northern Ireland Hairdresser of the Year

Julian Dalrymple, The Sittingroom Hairdressing, Ballymena
Clive Johnston, Clive Alexander, Enniskillen
Keith Kane, Keith Kane Hair International, Carryduff
Andrew Mulvenna, Andrew Mulvenna, Belfast
John Morrison and Carolyn Russell, JL Morrison Hairdressing, Belfast
Michael Quinn, Michael Quinn Hairdressing, Belfast

North Western Hairdresser of the Year

Mike Bennell, Time Hairdressing, Liverpool
Harry Boocock, The Hair Studio, Leeds
Jayne Mahon, Andrew Collinge Hairdressing, Liverpool
Marcello Moccia, Room: 97 Creative Hairdressing, Wakefield
Sharon Peake, Ethos, Manchester
Melanie Tudor, En Route Hair & Beauty, Wakefield

Scottish Hairdresser of the Year

Nelson Brown, Browns, Dumfries
Gary Skinner & Stanley Cowley, Hair by JFK, Edinburgh
Tracey Devine, Angels, Aberdeen
Gary Hunter & Leslie Hunter, Frances Hunter Hair and Beauty, Stirling
Suzie McGill, Rainbow Room International, Uddingston
Lynne Welsh, Mosko, Wishaw

Southern Hairdresser of the Year

Anna Chapman, Trevor Sorbie, Brighton
Ross Dilanda, Scully Scully, Godalming
Paul Hawes, Review, Petersfield
Seung Ki Baek, Rush, Epsom
Rae Palmer, Rae Palmer, Southsea
Leonardo Rizzo, Sanrizz, Guildford

Wales & South West Hairdresser of the Year

Ian Davies, Ocean, Cardiff
Ken Picton, Ken Picton, Cardiff Bay
Scott Smurthwaite, Cream, Gloucestershire
Sally Stevens, Central Studio, Bristol
Vicky Turner, Goldsworthy’s, Swindon
Tommy Van Der Veken, Tommy’s Hair Company, Ruthin

Specialist Categories:

Afro Hairdresser of the Year

Renda Attia, Steven Carey Hair Salon, London
Junior Green, Junior Green Hair & Beauty Ltd, London
Kim Johnson, Hype Coiffure, London
Claire Rothstein, Bloww, London
Michelle Thompson, Francesco Group Academy, Staffordshire
Sandra Webb, Sandra Webb Hair & Beauty, London

Artistic Team of the Year

Brooks & Brooks, London
Andrew Collinge Hairdressing, Liverpool
Haringtons, London
hob Salons, London
Hooker & Young, Newcastle
Rush, Croydon

Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year

Darren Ambrose, D&J Ambrose, Pinner
Michael Barnes, Michael Barnes Hairdressing, London
Karen Brown, Hair by JFK, Edinburgh
Efi Davies, Toni & Guy, Covent Garden
Desmond Murray, Desmond Murray, London
James Rowe, Kontakt, London

Men’s Hairdresser of the Year

Sally Brooks,Brooks & Brooks,London
Mark Leeson, Mark Leeson Hair Body and Mind, Mansfield
Desmond Murray,Desmond Murray,C.G. London
Leonardo Rizzo,Sanrizz,Guilford
Jim Shaw,Essensuals,Billericay
Jamie Stevens,Errol Douglas,London

Newcomer of the Year

Christopher Appleton, George’s Hair Salon, Stoneygate
Alfie Booth, Andrew Collinge Hairdressing, Manchester
Peter Joseph Burkhill, Headlines UK, Leeds
Ben Ferris, Goldsworthy’s, Swindon
Ashley James Gamble, Royston Blythe, Compton
Victoria Nebbett, Monroe Hairdressing, Leatherhead

Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year

Andrea Beers, Andrea Beers, Kidderminster
Christel Lundqvist, hob Salons, London
Gary Hooker & Michael Young, Hooker & Young, Newcastle
Michelle Lawley,Royston Blythe, Compton
Paul Scully, Scully Scully, Godalming
Tim Scott-Wright, Lisa Shepherd Salons, Birmingham

For press enquiries on the British Hairdressing Awards please contact Alison Jameson, or Rachael Ross at Alison Jameson Consultants on 00 44 131 621 7210, fax 00 44 131 621 7215 or email;

This press release was distributed by ResponseSource Press Release Wire on behalf of AJC93 in the following categories: Children & Teenagers, Men's Interest, Health, Women's Interest & Beauty, Retail & Fashion, for more information visit