Skip navigation
Skip navigation
You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser.
What HOuse? Awards 2009

Housebuilders and Housing Associations across the UK can enter the most coveted accolades in the new homes market – The What House? Awards 2009.

The Awards, in their 28th year, are the most prestigious and longest established in the housebuilding industry.

“It has been a horrible year for housebuilders. But winning a What House? Award, will be an even greater achievement in such a severe economic downturn, showing sustained quality of product, despite market conditions and widespread industry redundancies,” said Rupert Bates, editorial director of What House? Awards organisers Globespan Media and leading trade magazine Show House.
“An Award is also a fantastic sales and marketing opportunity for companies to tell buyers, who will return in big numbers in 2010, they build the best new homes in Britain,” added Bates.

The Awards reward housebuilders and developers, large and small, across 23 categories. There are four new Housing Association categories this year, recognising the hugely important role the sector has in kick-starting the market by delivering thousands of affordable homes through various initiatives.

Last year’s Housebuilder of the Year title was won by small Cornish housebuilder Rosemullion Homes, while the best volume housebuilder was Berkeley Homes.

“The What House? Awards put us on the national stage. On the sales front we have always promoted the company’s outstanding design skill and quality when we market a development. To underline this with the kudos of a What House? Award is a huge added bonus,” said Roger Carson, managing director of Rosemullion Homes.

The Awards unveil exciting, dynamic new developers, delivering pioneering projects to their local markets, as well as highlighting the innovations of the industry’s major players who build across the country.

The Awards will be presented at a gala luncheon at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel on Friday 20 November 2009. It is the housebuilding industry’s event of the year, in the presence of the biggest and most influential names in property.

“It has been the most challenging year in the housebuilding industry’s history. Market forces and the credit crunch may have crippled the rate of building, but with huge pent up demand to release it is vital that new standards of build quality, design, customer care and environmental responsibility are set,” said Bates.

Entry deadline: 17 July, 2009

To download an entry form and prospectus go to
Or contact Derek Smith. Tel: 020-7002-8300

For sponsorship opportunities contact Ian Cunningham. Tel: 020-7002-8300

The Awards will be presented at a gala luncheon at the Grosvenor House Hotel, London on Friday November 20. For ticket information contact Derek Smith. Tel: 020-7002-8300.

What House? Awards 2009
Globespan Media Ltd
1 East Poultry Avenue
London EC1A 9PT

Tel: 020-7002-8300

This press release was distributed by ResponseSource Press Release Wire on behalf of Globespan Media in the following categories: Home & Garden, Business & Finance, Media & Marketing, Construction & Property, for more information visit