Skip navigation
Skip navigation
You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser.
The CRAPPs 2011 logo

The shortlists for the Communicative Relations Awards from PR Professionals (The CRAPPs) have been announced today, with finalists in categories ranging from ‘the most likely to tell you to sling your hook’ to the ‘least twattish Twitterer – the must-follow journo’.

To celebrate the relationship between journalists, bloggers and PRs, was launched by national PR agency 10 Yetis in 2010, returning again this year, in association with DWPub.

The light-hearted awards are split into three stages:

1. Nominations – open until 30th November 2011 – NOW CLOSED
2. Voting – open from 1st December until 14th December 2011
3. Results – released 15th December

There are six personal award categories, and one group award.

The awards have received thousands of nominations since launching on Tuesday 15th November, prompting praise from prominent journalists and public relations professionals.

The ten most nominated names have now formed the shortlist in each category, where voters now have the chance to vote for their favourite per category.

Final results will be made public in time for Christmas, on Thursday 15th December.

Here are the finalists in each category:

1. The journalist that makes you feel warm and furry on the inside

• Adrian Bridgwater – freelance
• Amy Duncan – Metro
• Becca Caddy – Shiny Shiny
• Hilary Osborne – The Guardian
• Jane Hamilton – The Sun
• Matt Warman – The Daily Telegraph
• Olivia Solon – Wired
• Stuart Dredge – Freelance
• Vikki Chowney – Econsultancy
• Vicky Woolaston – WebUser

2. The ‘most likely to tell you to sling your hook’ award

• Alan Burkitt-Gray – Global Telecoms Business
• Charles Arthur – The Guardian
• Fiona Harvey – The Guardian
• Gary Flood – Freelance
• Geoff Ho – Sunday Express
• Joe McGrath – Insolvency Today
• Lisa Salmon – Press Association
• Sean Poulter – Daily Mail
• Pete Swabey – Information Age
• Ruki Sayid – Daily Mirror

3. The ‘best PR blogger’ award

• Adam Vincenzini – COMMS Corner
• Ben Cotton – Social Web Thing
• Brian Solis –
• Drew Benvie – Drew B’s take on tech PR
• Jon Silk –
• Max Tatton-Brown –
• Stephen Waddington – Wadds’ PR and Social Media blog
• Steve Earl – Earlin’ PR abuse
• Stuart Bruce –
• Will Sturgeon – The Media Blog

4. Least twattish Twitterer – the must follow journo

• Adrian Bridgwater – Freelance - @abridgwater
• Caitlin Moran – The Times - @caitlinmoran
• Fleet Street Fox – Unknown – @fleetstreetfox
• Josh Halliday – The Guardian - @joshhalliday
• Harry Wallop – The Daily Telegraph – @hwallop
• India Knight – The Sunday Times - @indiaknight
• Neal Mann – Sky News - @fieldproducer
• Olivia Solon – Wired - @olivia_solon
• Sally Whittle – Freelance - @swhittle
• Tom Wiggins – Stuff - @wiggowiggo

5. Least twattish Twitterer – the must follow PR

• Andrew Bloch – Frank PR - @andrewbloch
• Andrew Smith – Escherman - @andismit
• Beth Murray – Lansons - @bmbm
• Camilla Brown – Manifest Communications - @girlterate
• Dan Bulteel – Hill and Knowlton - @danbulteel
• Neville Hobson – Freelance - @jangles
• Rupert Walker – Immediate Future - @rupinjapan
• Sherrilynne Starkie – Strive PR - @sherrilynne
• Stephen Waddington – Speed Communications - @wadds
• Steven Davies – Freelance - @stedavies

6. Journalist you'd most like to bring to the dark side (employ as a PR)

• Amy Duncan – The Metro
• Dave Masters – The Sun
• Emma Barnett – The Daily Telegraph
• Harry Wallop – The Daily Telegraph
• Jack Schofield – Freelance
• Jane Hamilton – The Sun
• Mark Dye - Freelance
• Stuart Miles – Pocket-lint
• Tim Weber – BBC
• Verity Burns – MSN

7. Most approachable daily national newspaper

• The Daily Express
• The Daily Mail
• The Daily Mirror
• The Daily Telegraph
• The Daily Star
• The Financial Times
• The Guardian
• The Independent
• The Metro
• The Sun

2010 winners can be seen here:

Rich Leigh, account director at 10 Yetis PR Agency,, had the following to say,

“We’ve had another great start to The CRAPPs, with more than double the nominations we saw in last year’s inaugural scheme and a largely positive industry response!

“I’ve been asked throughout if the shortlist was shaping up exactly as last year and I’m pleased to say that it hasn’t, although there are, inevitably, some of the usual suspects, some of whom I’d wager would be incredibly disappointed if they weren’t nominated.”

He continued,

“Our intention has always been to highlight the relationship between the PR industry and journalists. I’m under no illusion; one tongue-in-cheek month-long award scheme isn’t going to improve anything on a wider scale, but to hear that the ‘mardy’ – the Guardian’s words, not mine! - Charles Arthur called the winner of our first limited edition ‘Die, PR, Die, I survived a Charles Arthur sell-in’ t-shirt to congratulate her makes us feel like we’re bringing the two camps together at least a little bit in the run-up to Christmas.”

Daryl Willcox, chairman of Daryl Willcox Publishing,, said of his company’s involvement in the awards,

“In their second year it looks like the CRAPPs have already become a bit of an institution and it's great to see both PR professionals and journalists getting stuck in with the nominations. The next phase of voting will be great fun and I'm looking forward to discovering who the CRAPPS winners will be!”

The CRAPPs can be found on Twitter at


For more information, please contact Rich Leigh, 10 Yetis PR Agency on 01452 348 211 or

This press release was distributed by ResponseSource Press Release Wire on behalf of 10 Yetis PR and Marketing in the following categories: Children & Teenagers, Men's Interest, Entertainment & Arts, Health, Leisure & Hobbies, Home & Garden, Women's Interest & Beauty, Environment & Nature, Sport, Consumer Technology, Motoring, Food & Drink, Personal Finance, Business & Finance, Travel, Education & Human Resources, Medical & Pharmaceutical, Media & Marketing, Retail & Fashion, Computing & Telecoms, for more information visit