Skip navigation
Skip navigation
You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser.
BHA logo

The search for Britain’s top creative talent is well underway as the finalists for HJ’s 2013 British Hairdressing Awards, sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional have been announced.

The most coveted titles in the professional hairdressing calendar see stylists in salons across the country entering photographic collections consisting of four images that demonstrate their talent within their chosen specialty. Each entry showcases their creativity, passion and finishing skills designed to impress the judges and secure them a place in the British Hairdressing Awards final. Judged anonymously and autonomously by iconic industry names, the results are collated by a team of independent auditors to guarantee a fair and impartial result. Those lucky enough to finalise then submit a further four images to create an entire collection that are again judged anonymously to reveal the ultimate winner in each category.

The Grosvenor House, a JW Marriott Hotel will provide the elegant backdrop as the black tie ceremony acknowledges the country’s finest talents on Monday 25th November. Publishing Director, Jayne Lewis-Orr, who together with a celebrity compère will host the evening comments, “Each year the creative energy and commitment that goes into these award entries never fails to impress and this year the strength of diversity proves why British talent is continually recognised internationally as the leading force in hairdressing.”

As well as announcing the winners from each of the fifteen categories, the ultimate accolade in British hairdressing will be awarded as Errol Douglas, Tim Hartley, Mark Hayes, Gary Hooker & Michael Young, Akin Konizi, Mark Leeson, Angelo Seminara and Jamie Stevens are all nominated for the 2013 British Hairdresser of the Year title.

HJ’s 2013 British Hairdressing Awards Finalists are:

Specialist Finalists

Afro Hairdresser of the Year
• Charlotte Mensah, Hair Lounge, London
• Craig Chapman, Craig Chapman Hair Design, Launceston, Cornwall
• Michelle Thompson, Francesco Group Academy, Stafford, Staffordshire
• Junior Green, Junior Green Hair & Beauty, Knightsbridge, London
• Aycan Kemal, New York Hair Design, Langham Road, London
• Tracey Devine-Smith, Angels, Aberdeen

Artistic Team of the Year
• Alexander Hair & Beauty
• Ken Picton Salon
• Mark Leeson Hair, Body & Mind
• Rush Hair
• Hooker & Young
• D&J Ambrose

Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year
• Joanne O’Neill, Joanne O’Neill Hairdressing, Dunloy, Co. Antrim, Northern Ireland
• Anne Veck, Anne Veck Salons, Oxford
• Emmanuel Esteban, Anne Veck Salons, Oxford
• Tomomi Naito, Eton Crop, London
• Indira Schauwecker, Toni & Guy Covent Garden, London
• Chie Sato, Toni & Guy Covent Garden, London

Men’s Hairdresser of the Year
• Donna Mitchell, Bonce Salons, Wednesbury, West Midlands
• Darren Webster, Webster Whiteman, London
• Kevin Luchmun, Toni & Guy Covent Garden, London
• Jim Shaw, Essensuals Men, Billericay, Essex
• Jody Taylor, Toni & Guy Covent Garden, London
• Michael Francos, D&J Ambrose, Pinner, Middlesex

Newcomer of the Year
• Troy Boyd, Emma J Steven, Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
• Kayleigh De Vries, Craig Chapman Hair Design, Launceston, Cornwall
• Sophia Hilton, Brooks & Brooks, Holborn, London
• Jonathan De Francesco, Brooks & Brooks, Holborn, London
• Charles Douek, Royston Blythe, Compton, Wolverhampton
• Scott Jordan, Toni & Guy South Kensington, London

Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year
• Sharon Peake and Adam Bryant, Ethos Hairdressing, Manchester
• Faye Turner, HOB Salons, Camden
• Tracey Devine-Smith, Angels, Aberdeen
• Mark Leeson, Mark Leeson Hair, Body & Mind, Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
• Tasha Stevens, Jamie Stevens Hair, London
• Gary Hooker and Michael Young, Hooker & Young, Jesmond, Newcastle-upon-Tyne

Regional Finalists

Eastern Hairdresser of the Year
• Gemma Hensman, Hensmans, Northampton, Northamptonshire
• Angelo Vallillo, Zullo & Holland, Nottingham
• Nathan Jasztal, Silhouette Du Barry, Chelmsford, Essex
• Daniel Granger and Lucie King, Daniel Granger Hairdressing, Northampton, Northamptonshire
• Lisa Butler, Gooseberry Salon, Nottingham
• Shaun Hall, Mark Leeson Hair, Body & Mind, Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
• Tracey Taylor, The Tier Hairdressing, Nottingham

London Hairdresser of the Year
• Richard Ashforth, Saco
• Petros Mairoudhiou and Anna Chapman, Trevor Sorbie Covent Garden
• Sean Dawson, HOB Salons, Camden
• Lucie Monbillard, seanhanna, Putney
• Cos Sakkas, Toni & Guy South Kensington
• Darren Ambrose, D&J Ambrose, Pinner, Middlesex

Midlands Hairdresser of the Year
• Sarah Bowron and Adrian Bowron, Aesthetics, Solihull, West Midlands
• Michelle Griffin, Michelle Griffin Academy, Barnt Green, Birmingham
• James Whyte, Soul Hair, Chester, Cheshire
• Nick Malenko and Ashley Gamble, Royston Blythe, Compton, Wolverhampton
• Michelle Thompson, Francesco Group Academy, Stafford, Staffordshire
• Peter Prosser, Peter Prosser Hairdressing, Hereford, Herefordshire

North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year
• Alexander Turnbull, Alexander Hair & Beauty, Anlaby, Hull, East Yorkshire
• Hannah Gordon, Paul Gordon, Scunthorpe, Humberside
• Rick Roberts, Rick Roberts, Beverley, East Yorkshire
• Michelle Rooney, Hooker & Young, Wynyard, Billingham

Northern Ireland Hairdresser of the Year
• Keith Kane, Keith Kane Hair International, Carryduff, Belfast
• Andrew Mulvenna, Andrew Mulvenna, Belfast
• Sinead Kelly, Precious Hair Design, Downpatrick, Co. Down
• Christopher Stewart, Hair Traffic, Belfast
• Simon Houston, Simon Houston Hairdressing, Galgorm, Ballymena, Co. Antrim
• Sharon Dow, Kevin Kahan, Bangor

North Western Hairdresser of the Year
• Harry Boocock and Chris Horsman, The Hair Studio, Headingley, Leeds, West Yorkshire
• Adam Bryant, Ethos Hairdressing, Manchester
• Lisa Rhead and Andrea Daley, Barbara Daley, Liverpool
• Marcello Moccia, Room: 97 Creative, Wakefield, West Yorkshire
• Michelle Trow, Andrew Collinge, Trafford Centre, Manchester
• Jamilla Paul, Jamilla Paul, Rochdale, Lancashire

Scottish Hairdresser of the Year
• Suzie McGill, Rainbow Room International, Uddingston, Glasgow
• David Corbett, David Corbett Hairdressing, Bothwell, Glasgow
• Philip Bell, Ishoka, Aberdeen
• Faruk Mohammed and Sandy Caird, Hair by JFK, Edinburgh
• Ryan Harris, Angels, Aberdeen
• Brian Gallagher, Gallagher Horner Hair, Bishopbriggs, Glasgow

Southern Hairdresser of the Year
• Louise Wood, The Hair Advice Centre, Englefield Green, Surrey
• Kerry Mather, KJM Salons, Fleet, Hampshire
• Ryan Nicoletti-Dowd, Wigg, Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
• Anne Veck, Anne Veck Salons, Oxford, Oxfordshire
• Seung-Ki Baek, Rush Hair, Epsom, Surrey
• Bruno Marc Giamattei, Marc Antoni, Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire

Wales & South West Hairdresser of the Year
• Craig Chapman, Craig Chapman Hair Design, Launceston, Cornwall
• Rachelle Simmonds and Dafydd Rhys Thomas, Ken Picton Salon, Cardiff
• Martin Crean, Martin Crean at Mode, Chipping Campden, Gloucestershire
• Victoria Thomas and Louise Mattey, Blush, Cardiff
• Joshua Goldsworthy and Vicky Turner, Goldsworthy’s, Swindon, Wiltshire
• Ian Davies, Ocean Hairdressing, Cardiff

For further information on HJ’s 2013 British Hairdressing Awards please visit or to book tickets please email

For press enquiries or to interview any of the 2012 British Hairdressing Awards winners please contact Alison Jameson or Rachael Grieve at Alison Jameson Consultants on + 44 (0)131 621 7210, fax + (0) 44 131 621 7215 or email;

This press release was distributed by ResponseSource Press Release Wire on behalf of AJC93 in the following categories: Men's Interest, Women's Interest & Beauty, Retail & Fashion, for more information visit