Skip navigation
Skip navigation
You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser.
Mark Leeson and Jayne Lewis-Orr

Tonight the winners of HJ’s 30th British Hairdressing Awards, sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional, were announced in style. Set in the luxurious Great Room of the Grosvenor House Hotel a JW Marriot Hotel in London’s Park Lane, the brightest event in the hairdressing calendar was a night not to be missed. For one hairdresser in particular, it was a defining moment in their professional career when their name, Mark Leeson was announced as the British Hairdresser of the Year 2014.

In the 30 year history of the British Hairdressing Awards there has only been 15 hairdressers awarded the most prestigious title of any hairdressing career, British Hairdresser of the Year, and now Mark proudly shares the company of hairdressing icons and previous winners Trevor Sorbie, Anthony Mascolo, Irvine and Rita Rusk, John Frieda, Andrew Collinge, Nicky Clarke, Charles Worthington, Umberto Giannini, Beverly C, Mark Hill, Antoinette Beenders, Lisa Shepherd, Andrew Barton, Angelo Seminara and Akin Konizi.

Presented by Executive Director of Hairdressers Journal International, Jayne Lewis-Orr and much loved television personality, James Corden, the black-tie awards ceremony brings together the hairdressing industry to celebrate the best of British creativity. Each year professionals from all over the UK showcase their skills and love for their craft in photographic entries. There are nine regional categories covering all areas of the UK and six specialist categories that recognise the skills required in specific disciplines. These include Afro, Artistic Team, Avant Garde, Newcomer, Men’s Hairdresser of the Year and the Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year. Hairdressers from any UK salon can enter the British Hairdressing Awards and compete evenly with the biggest names in the industry as the anonymous, independent and audited judging process ensures complete fairness for all.

Along with the 30 year heritage, what makes the British Hairdressing Awards unique is that they are based purely on photographic entries that demonstrate the skills and talents of the entrant. All entries are judged by an extensive, distinguished and experienced panel of credible individuals and the results collated by an independent firm of auditors.

“British hairdressers are internationally renowned for their creativity, originality and innovation and we are proud that the British Hairdressing Awards continues to celebrate the best of British,” said Executive Director, Jayne Lewis-Orr. “It has been inspiring on this special anniversary to see the standard of entries in all categories pushing forward. Congratulations to all the 2014 winners who truly are the best of British.”

The winners of the 2014 British Hairdressing Awards

HJ’s British Hairdresser of the Year 2014 – Mark Leeson, Mark Leeson Hair Body & Mind, Mansfield, Nottinghamshire

Afro Hairdresser of the Year – Charlotte Mensah, Hair Lounge, London

Artistic Team of the Year – Marc Antoni, Henley-on-Thames

Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year – Chie Sato, Toni & Guy, Covent Garden, London

Men’s Hairdresser of the Year – Jamie Stevens, Jamie Stevens Hair London, Kensington, London

Newcomer of the Year – Jamie Benny, RUSH Hair, London

Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year – Clayde Baumann, D&J Ambrose, Pinner, Middlesex

Eastern Hairdresser of the Year – Angelo Vallillo, Zullo and Holland, Nottingham

London Hairdresser of the Year – Cos Sakkas, Toni & Guy, Sloane Square, London

Midlands Hairdresser of the Year – Nick Malenko and Sophie Beattie, Royston Blythe, Compton, Wolverhampton

North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year – Toni Stephenson, Hooker & Young, Darlington, County Durham

Northern Ireland Hairdresser of the Year – Sharon Malcolm, Sharon Malcolm Hairdressing, Newtownards, Co. Down

North Western Hairdresser of the Year – Brent Barlow and Rosie Binns, Ethos Hairdressing, Chorlton, Manchester

Scottish Hairdresser of the Year – Philip Bell, Ishoka Hair and Beauty, Aberdeen

Southern Hairdresser of the Year – Bruno Marc Giamattei, Marc Antoni, Henley-on-Thames, Berkshire

Wales & South West Hairdresser of the Year – Martin Crean, Mode, Chipping Campden, Gloucestershire

For press enquiries on the British Hairdressing Awards please contact Alison Jameson or Lauren Martin at Alison Jameson Consultants on + 44 (0)131 621 7210, fax + (0) 44 131 621 7215 or email;

This press release was distributed by ResponseSource Press Release Wire on behalf of AJC93 in the following categories: Women's Interest & Beauty, Retail & Fashion, for more information visit