Skip navigation
Skip navigation
You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser.
British Hairdressing Awards logo

The Best in the Industry

HJ’s British Hairdressing Awards, sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional has been raising the profile of the professional hairdressing industry for over three decades and now the best in this creative business have been named for 2015.

The iconic photographic competition invites hairdressing professionals and artistic teams from across the country to submit a collection of four images that showcase their creativity and technical ability. Entrants are able to choose from regional and specialist categories including Afro, Artistic Team, Avant Garde, Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year, Men’s and Newcomer. Judged anonymously and independently by industry peers, each finalist will now submit a further four images to create a collection of eight which is judged in its entirety, before the winners of all sixteen categories are announced on Monday 23rd November.

The 2015 finalists will come together with previous winners, household names and industry icons at the esteemed event held at The Grosvenor House, a JW Marriott Hotel. A celebrity compere will host the evening and as the fifteen regional and specialist winners celebrate their news, tension builds as the final award winner is revealed, HJ’s British Hairdresser of the Year. The greatest accolade of any hairdressing career, the nominees for 2015 are; Darren Ambrose, Errol Douglas MBE, Mark Hayes, Gary Hooker & Michael Young, Akin Konizi, Mark Leeson and Jamie Stevens.

Executive Director of Hairdressers Journal International, Jayne Lewis-Orr says, “Becoming a finalist for a British Hairdressing Award is a huge achievement. We had a record-breaking number of entries this year and I know the judges found it incredibly difficult to select the finalists. Year-on-year the standard continues to soar, impressing the judges and the international coverage secured by the finalist’s collections reaffirms British hairdressing as the best in the world.”

Regional Categories

Eastern Hairdresser of the Year

• Scott Halsey, Clipso, Watford, Hertfordshire
• Daniel Granger, Daniel Granger Hairdressing, Northampton
• Paul Falltrick, Giselle Falltrick, Hornchurch, Essex
• Jessica Neil, KH Hair, West Bridgford, Nottingham
• Callum Standen-May, The Egg, Norwich
• Angelo Vallillo, Zullo & Holland, Nottingham

London Hairdresser of the Year

• Kieran Tudor, D&J Ambrose, Pinner
• Darren Bain, HOB Salons, Baker Street
• Jake Unger, HOB Salons, Camden
• Andrew Heasman, RUSH Hair
• Hayley Bishop, Toni & Guy, Wigmore Street
• Cos Sakkas, Toni & Guy, Sloane Square

Midlands Hairdresser of the Year

• Shaun Hall, Mark Leeson, Chesterfield, Derbyshire
• Michelle Griffin, Michelle Griffin Academy, Barnt Green, Birmingham
• Kieron Fowles, Regis, Birmingham
• Nick Malenko and Sophie Beattie, Royston Blythe, Compton, Wolverhampton
• Royston Blythe and Charles Douek, Royston Blythe, Shrewsbury

• James Whyte and Tom Wright, Soul Hair, Chester

North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year

• Alexander Turnbull, Alexander Hair & Beauty, Hull
• Joseph Ferraro, Halo Hair and Beauty, Harrogate
• Jonathan Turner, Hooker & Young, Newcastle-upon-Tyne
• Rick Roberts, Rick Roberts, Beverley, East Yorkshire
• Dean Bradwell, Scarlet Moon, Middlesbrough
• Jill Watkins-Wright, Watkins-Wright Hairdressing, Thirsk, North Yorkshire

Northern Ireland Hairdresser of the Year

• Keith Kane, Keith Kane Hair International, Belfast
• Sharon Dow, Kevin Kahan, Bangor
• Thomas Hillen and Alanda Patrick, Peter Mark, Newtownabbey, Antrim
• Julie Cherry and Collette Fitzpatrick, Shane Bennett Salon, Co. Down
• Sharon Malcolm, Sharon Malcolm Hairdressing, Co. Down
• Leisa Stafford, Stafford Hair, Belfast

North Western Hairdresser of the Year

• Gary Taylor, Edward & Co., Brighouse, West Yorkshire
• Adam Bryant, Ethos Hairdressing, Manchester
• Marcello Moccia, Room 97 Creative, Wakefield
• Melanie Jefferson, Savvy Ltd, Whitehaven, Cumbria
• Mai Ha, Trevor Sorbie, Manchester
• Jennifer Pelter and Amy Lopez, Westrow, Leeds

Scottish Hairdresser of the Year

• David Corbett, David Corbett Hairdressing, Glasgow
• Caroline Sanderson and Claire McIntyre, Ego Hair Design, Inverness
• Gary Hunter and Leslie Hunter, Frances Hunter Hairdressing, Stirling
• Brian Gallagher, Gallagher & Horner, Glasgow
• Neil Barton, Neil Barton Hairdressing, Edinburgh
• Suzie McGill, Rainbow Room International, Uddingston, Glasgow

Southern Hairdresser of the Year

• Robert Masciave, Metropolis Hairdressing, Kingston-upon-Thames
• Seung Ki Baek, RUSH Hair, Epsom
• Thomas Hills, TH1 Hair, Oxted
• Louise Wood, The Hair Advice Centre, Englefield Green
• David Baker and Ben Hendry, The Vault Hair and Spa, Claygate, Esher
• Rae Palmer, Welove, Southsea

Wales & South West Hairdresser of the Year

• Craig Chapman, Craig Chapman Hair Design, Launceston
• Joshua Goldsworthy, Goldsworthy’s Hairdressing, Swindon
• Dafydd Rhys Thomas, Ken Picton Salon, Cardiff
• Martin Crean, Mode, Chipping Campden, Gloucestershire
• Ben Driscoll-Price, Robert John, Portishead
• Steven Smart, Smartest 73, Weston-Super-Mare

Specialist Categories

Afro Hairdresser of the Year

• Anne Veck, Anne Veck, Oxford
• Michelle Thompson, Francesco Group Advanced Academy, Stafford
• George Kosit, George Kosit Hair, Birmingham
• Charlotte Mensah, Hair Lounge , London
• Junior Green, Junior Green Hair & Beauty, London
• Aycan Kemal, New York Hair Design, Knightsbridge, London

Artistic Team of the Year

• Marc Antoni, Henley-on-Thames
• Mark Leeson, Mansfield
• Michelle Griffin Academy, Barnt Green, Birmingham
• RUSH Hair, London
• Shane Bennett Salon, Hillsborough, Co. Down
• Zullo & Holland, Nottingham

Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year

• Silvio Hauke, Blue Tit, Nottingham
• Joanne O’Neill, Joanne O’Neill Hairdressing, Dunloy, Co. Antrim
• Lucie Monbillard, seanhanna, London
• Erika Selvaggio, Taylor Taylor London
• Indira Schauwecker, Toni & Guy Covent Garden
• Scott Jordan, Toni & Guy South Kensington

Men’s Hairdresser of the Year

• Craig Chapman and Kayleigh Devries, Craig Chapman Hair Design, Launceston, Cornwall
• Marcus King, Hooker & Young, Wynyard, Billingham
• Jonathan Andrew, Jamie Stevens Hair, Kensington, London
• Kevin Luchmun, Toni & Guy, Henrietta Street, London
• Simon Khan, Toni & Guy, Gloucester Road, London
• Darren Webster, Webster Whiteman, Mayfair, London

Newcomer of the Year

• Ashleigh Hodges, Flame Hair Studios, Towcester
• Shelley Manley, Malcolm Murphy Hair, Leicester
• Rory Share, Michelle Griffin Academy, Barnt Green, Birmingham
• Jordan Robertson, Room 97 Creative, Wakefield
• Ben Russell, The House of Rush, Piccadilly, London
• Sophie Springett, Toni & Guy, South Kensington, London

Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year

• Stephanie Gamble and Ashley Gamble, Ashley Gamble, Shifnal, West Midlands
• Adam Bryant and Sharon Peake, Ethos, Manchester
• Rebecca Counsell, Hare and Bone, London
• Issie Churcher, HOB Salons, Camden, London
• Tasha Stevens, Jamie Stevens Hair, London
• Dan Spiller and Lucy Tuck, Marc Antoni, Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire

For further information on HJ’s 2015 British Hairdressing Awards please visit or to book tickets please email

For press enquiries or to interview any of the 2015 British Hairdressing Awards winners please contact Alison Jameson or Rachael Grieve at Alison Jameson Consultants on + 44 (0)131 621 7210, fax + (0) 44 131 621 7215 or email;

This press release was distributed by ResponseSource Press Release Wire on behalf of AJC93 in the following categories: Women's Interest & Beauty, for more information visit