Skip navigation
Skip navigation
You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser.
Travel Mug

Ideally, every day should be Mother’s Day as we give thanks to the person that brought us kicking and screaming - literally - into the world. Alas, it’s not. So, we all have to make do with just once a year stopping to remember the untold sacrifices and unconditional love that only a mother can provide.

In the UK, that day is next marked on March 11 2018. The day always falls on the fourth Sunday of Lent, and three weeks before Easter Sunday. The middle Sunday of Lent has long been associated with mothers; as on that day - Laetare Sunday - it was traditional for people to return home to their mother church.

Mothering Sunday - or, the more common (and Americanised), Mother’s Day - was formalised in the UK in the early 20th Century when a vicar’s daughter named Constance Smith read a newspaper report of a campaign in America to celebrate such a day across the Atlantic.

Today, it’s estimated that close to £1.5billion was spent on Mother’s Day last year (including retail and non-retail - dining out for example - spend). It’s clearly big business. It is generally found that mothers aren’t bothered about receiving a lavish gift on the day. Rather, they’d happily spend time with their children instead.

Leading high street homewares retailer Robert Dyas has acknowledged this sentiment by highlighting a range of affordable presents that mum will appreciate – alongside a visit on March 11 of course.

Children can customise and let their creativity shine this Mother’s Day with a wide range of gift ideas from Robert Dyas.

Robert Dyas’ Mother’s Day Checklist

Let mum know how much you think of her with this cool Cinematic Lightbox (£5.99). Another way of passing on your loving thoughts is via this Speech Bubble Light (£12.99).

If your mum’s a frustrated artist, this adult colouring book (£6.93) will provide her with a suitable outlet for her colouring talents.

If it’s true that photos speak a thousand words, then applying some cherished snaps of you and your mum to this Polaroid Magnetic Photo Frame (£11.99) will go down a treat. As will popping a photo in this photo frame (£5.99).

Want to evoke happy childhood memories? Mums will love this skipping rope (£7.99).

Mothers rushing off to work in a morning will love this make up bag (£6.00) - ideal for mums on-the-go. And at the end of a busy day, these Epsom Bath Salts (£3.29) are just the tonic.

Come summer, watching birds feeding in this bird feeder (£9.99) will allow mum to reflect upon the beauty of life.

Nurturing is second nature to mums so growing chillies (£5.99) is a nice touch.

These retro cake tins (£12.99) are a great idea - especially if you take along a traditional Mother’s Day simnel cake inside. Even better if you bake the cake yourself, with help from this spring form cake tin (£6.99).

Most mums’ like fizz, yeah? Give the gift of bubbles with this prosecco giant champagne flute (£8.99). If she’s away from home a travel mug (£3.99) full of her favourite hot beverage will lift up any journey.

Finally, this simple cappuccino mug (£2.99) allows you to personalise it with your favourite designs.

For more information please visit the Robert Dyas website at http://www.robertdyas.co.uk/

ENDS

Prices are correct to the time the press release was issued.

Cinematic Light Box: https://www.robertdyas.co.uk/locomocean-a6-led-cinematic-lig...
Speech Bubble Light: http://www.robertdyas.co.uk/speech-bubble-light
Adult Colouring Book: http://www.robertdyas.co.uk/enchanted-forest-colouring-bk
Polaroid Magnetic Frame (http://www.robertdyas.co.uk/fizz-creations-polaroid-magnetic...
Photo Frame: Photo Frame: http://www.robertdyas.co.uk/innova-norfolk-a4-frame-beech
Skipping Rope: http://www.robertdyas.co.uk/fitness-mad-speed-rope-9-foot
Make Up Bag: http://www.robertdyas.co.uk/rendezvous-make-up-bag
Epsom Bath Salts: http://www.robertdyas.co.uk/westlab-epsom-bath-salts-1kg
Bird Feeder: https://www.robertdyas.co.uk/gardman-poppy-bird-feeder-dish
Grow Your Own Chillies: http://www.robertdyas.co.uk/grow-your-own-chillies-indoor-st...
Retro Cake Tin: http://www.robertdyas.co.uk/tala-retro-cake-tins-set-of-3
Spring Form Cake Tin: http://www.robertdyas.co.uk/robertdyas-spring-form-cake-tin
Giant Champagne Flute: https://www.robertdyas.co.uk/gift-republic-giant-champagne-f...
Travel Mug: http://www.robertdyas.co.uk/cambridge-retro-daisy-travel-mug
Cappuccino Mug: http://www.robertdyas.co.uk/porcelain-cappuccino-mug

* Mother’s Day Statistics: https://www.fungglobalretailtech.com/research/uk-mothers-day...

Media information provided by Famous Publicity. For further information please contact Adam Betteridge at adam@famouspublicity.com, Mary-Jane Rose at mary-jane@famouspublicity.com or Tina Fotherby at tina@famouspublicity.com or call the office on 0333 344 2341.

About Robert Dyas:

Robert Dyas, a man of notable character and remarkable determination, founded the company in 1872. He had a vision to provide customers with the best products, service and advice possible – a tradition that continues to be the focus of the company to this day. In 2012, successful businessman and star of BBC TV’s Dragons Den, Theo Paphitis, bought the company.

Theo Paphitis is one of the UK’s most high-profile businessmen with an empire spanning retail, property and finance. Theo, through his staff at the Theo Paphitis Retail Group (TPRG), has continued the Robert Dyas tradition of excellent customer service.

Robert Dyas offers an extensive range of household products. The range includes smart home technology, DIY solutions, small and domestic appliances, homeware, bakeware and kitchenware, outdoor and garden, utility, gifts, textiles plus Christmas trees and gifts.

The company has 94 stores, ranging from 1,250 to 9,000 square feet (116 to 836 square meters) and operates online and in the South of England. The most western store is in Yeovil, the most eastern store in Colchester, the most northern store in Solihull and the store furthest south is in Eastbourne. The company’s head office is now based in Wimbledon.

Website: http://www.RobertDyas.co.uk/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/RobertDyas
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/robertdyasltd/
Blog: http://www.robertdyas.co.uk/blog
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/robertdyas/
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.co.uk/robertdyas/
Linked In: https://www.linkedin.com/company-beta/94365/
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/robertdyasltd

This press release was distributed by ResponseSource Press Release Wire on behalf of Robert Dyas in the following categories: Entertainment & Arts, Leisure & Hobbies, Women's Interest & Beauty, for more information visit https://pressreleasewire.responsesource.com/about.