Skip navigation
Polder Styling Station

When moving in together, it’s important to think about the impact it will have on your personal space.

Moving in with your loved one is a beautiful and exciting rite of passage, however sharing your home always has its ups and downs. High street retailer Robert Dyas has put together five top tips to help lessen the strain of cohabitation by getting prepped beforehand.

Robert Dyas Head of Marketing, Rebecca Waters, said, “When moving in together, it’s important to think about the impact it will have on your personal space. Thoughtfully organising and decorating a home together is not only a great way to foster intimacy, it also helps to stop arguments from erupting at a later date.”

Top 5 Tips for Moving in Together

1. Sort out your storage

Moving in together often means having to find a home for twice as much ‘stuff’ as you had before. Storage is therefore key. There are a number of ingenious ways to keep your shared items stowed away safely and save some space at the same time. For example, this H&L Underbed Storage Bag (£7.49) is an easy way to keep bulky items like extra bedding or winter coats packed away until they’re needed.

This foldable storage box (£5.29) is another useful container to have on hand. When it’s not being used, it can be folded flat and easily put away.

Or, for a more permanent addition to your home, this beautiful Packmate Faux Leather Two Seat Ottoman with Storage (£23.79) is not only an attractive solution to storage issues, it also doubles as extra seating.

2. Save on wardrobe space

When it comes to storage, there is no bigger source of conflict than the wardrobe. Alleviate some of the stress of sharing your wardrobe space by getting a wardrobe organiser (£6.99). As well as saving space, it will also help to keep your clothes neatly folded.

Accessories can often clog up a closet. For men, this Russel 20-Bar Tie Hanger (£3.99) is a great way to keep your ties in order. And for women, this Russel 10-Hook Accessory Rack (£3.99) can be used to keep all of your scarves and belts in one place.

If your wardrobe really is fit to burst and you can’t bear to part with any of your clothes, this Addis Garment Rail (£14.99) can be a real lifesaver.

And don’t forget to stock up on hangers while you’re at it. These wooden clothes hangers (£19.99) are a stylish and practical option that are sturdy enough to handle heavy items like coats.

3. Declutter your bathroom

Keeping countertops clear works wonders in the bathroom. Invest in a storage unit (£16.99) in order to keep your toiletries within reach without cluttering up the room.

Stop arguments about encroaching items of make-up from brewing by using a cosmetics organiser (£4.99).

This handy styling station (£18.99) Is a great way to keep all of your hairstyling gadgets in one place. The mesh base helps them to cool down quicker and there’s a compartment at the back for storing cables. You can even hook the station onto a handrail for easy access.

4. Stock up on extension cables

It’s easy to forget how important extension cables can be when it comes to organising a room, but if you and your partner both want to charge your phones at the same time, it’s essential that you have at least one on hand.

To save you from fumbling around for the extension cable on the floor, this plug tower (£19.99) stands upright, making it much more easily accessible.

Another option is the PowerCube Extended Plug Point (£16.49), which comes with a unique removable adhesive mounting station so you can fix it in whatever position is most convenient for you.

5. Pick out your bedding together

Since the bedroom is the most intimate room in the home, it’s important to make sure you both have a say in how it looks. Settle on colours and patterns that you both like and keep it comfy.

This Bianca Cotton Spring Print Bed Set (£31.99 - £53.99) has an elegant floral pattern that is designed to complement a range of decors.

Or, for a minimalist look, this Catherine Lansfield Minimalist Duvet Set (£24.99 - £44.99) is a simple, yet stylish selection that has wide appeal for both men and women.

Whatever design you two eventually agree on, relish this opportunity to combine your aesthetics into style that uniquely represents the pair of you.

For more information please visit the Robert Dyas website at http://www.robertdyas.co.uk/

ENDS

Prices are correct to the time the press release was issued

Products

H&L Underbed Storage Bag: https://www.robertdyas.co.uk/h-l-underbed-storage-bag Available online only

Medium Foldable Storage Box Lid: https://www.robertdyas.co.uk/medium-foldable-storage-box-wit... Available instore and online

Packmate Faux Leather Two Seat Ottoman with Storage: https://www.robertdyas.co.uk/packmate-faux-leather-two-seat-... Available online only

Russel 6-Pocket Wardrobe Organiser – Cream: https://www.robertdyas.co.uk/russel-6-pocket-wardrobe-organi... Available instore and online

Russel 20-Bar Tie Hanger: https://www.robertdyas.co.uk/russel-20-bar-tie-hanger Available instore and online

Russel 10-Hook Accessory Rack: https://www.robertdyas.co.uk/russel-10-hook-accessory-rack Available instore and online

Addis Garment Rail: https://www.robertdyas.co.uk/addis-garment-rail Available instore and online

Premier Houseware Wooden Clothes Hangers – Set of 20: https://www.robertdyas.co.uk/premier-houseware-wooden-clothe... Available instore and online

Oceana 3-Tier Storage Unit: https://www.robertdyas.co.uk/oceana-3-tier-storage-unit

Premier Housewares 9-Compartment Cosmetics Organiser – Clear: https://www.robertdyas.co.uk/premier-housewares-9-compartmen...

Polder Styling Station – White: https://www.robertdyas.co.uk/polder-styling-station-white Available online only

Daewoo 10-Way 2m Surge Protected Tower: https://www.robertdyas.co.uk/daewoo-10-way-2m-surge-protecte...

PowerCube Extended Plug Point – 1.5m: https://www.robertdyas.co.uk/powercube-extended-plug-point-1...

Bianca Cotton Spring Print Bed Set: https://www.robertdyas.co.uk/bianca-cotton-sprig-print-bed-s...

Catherine Lansfield Minimalist Duvet Set: https://www.robertdyas.co.uk/catherine-lansfield-minimalist-...

Media information provided by Famous Publicity. For further information please contact Mary-Jane Rose at mary-jane@famouspublicity.com or Adam Betteridge at adam@famouspublicity.com or Tina Fotherby at tina@famouspublicity.com or call the office on 0333 344 2341.

About Robert Dyas:

Robert Dyas, a man of notable character and remarkable determination, founded the company in 1872. He had a vision to provide customers with the best products, service and advice possible – a tradition that continues to be the focus of the company to this day. In 2012, successful businessman and star of BBC TV’s Dragons Den, Theo Paphitis, bought the company.

Theo Paphitis is one of the UK’s most high-profile businessmen with an empire spanning retail, property and finance. Theo, through his staff at the Theo Paphitis Retail Group (TPRG), has continued the Robert Dyas tradition of excellent customer service.

Robert Dyas offers an extensive range of household products. The range includes smart home technology, DIY solutions, small and domestic appliances, homeware, bakeware and kitchenware, outdoor and garden, utility, gifts, textiles plus Christmas trees and gifts.

The company has 94 stores, ranging from 1,250 to 9,000 square feet (116 to 836 square meters) and operates online and in the South of England. The most western store is in Yeovil, the most eastern store in Colchester, the most northern store in Solihull and the store furthest south is in Eastbourne. The company’s head office is now based in Wimbledon.

Website: http://www.RobertDyas.co.uk/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/RobertDyas
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/robertdyasltd/
Blog: http://www.robertdyas.co.uk/blog
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/robertdyas/
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.co.uk/robertdyas/
Linked In: https://www.linkedin.com/company-beta/94365/
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/robertdyasltd

This press release was distributed by ResponseSource Press Release Wire on behalf of Robert Dyas in the following categories: Men's Interest, Home & Garden, Women's Interest & Beauty, Consumer Technology, Retail & Fashion, for more information visit https://pressreleasewire.responsesource.com/about.