Skip nav

Akin Konizi Announced as British Hairdresser of the Year 2013

Stooshe Hit The Red Carpet At BHA13

Winners announced at HJ’s British Hairdressing Awards

The Grosvenor House Hotel, a JW Marriot Hotel in London’s Park Lane, was the setting for a glittering awards ceremony as the winners of HJ’s 29th British Hairdressing Awards, sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional were announced. The biggest event in the hairdressing calendar, it was a night Akin Konizi certainly won’t forget as he was announced as the 2013 British Hairdresser of the Year.

Akin is in good company, as there have only been 15 hairdressers awarded this title which is the greatest accolade in hairdressing. They are - Trevor Sorbie, Anthony Mascolo, Irvine and Rita Rusk, John Frieda, Andrew Collinge, Nicky Clarke, Charles Worthington, Umberto Giannini, Beverly C, Mark Hill, Antoinette Beenders, Lisa Shepherd, Andrew Barton, Akin Konizi and the current British Hairdresser of the Year, Angelo Seminara. The newly crowned British Hairdresser of the Year, Akin was ecstatic when he won the coveted title. “I couldn’t believe it when my name was called out, I was overwhelmed and delighted – winning the title is a dream come true,” said Akin.

Each year hairdressers from all over the UK dedicate months of hard work preparing their entries with fifteen categories to choose from. There are nine regional categories covering all areas of the UK and six specialist categories that recognise the skills required in specific areas, including - Afro, Men’s, Newcomer, Artistic Team, Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year, and the Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year. Hairdressers from any salon in the UK can enter the awards and compete with the biggest names in the industry as the anonymous and independent judging process ensures complete fairness for all. Unlike other awards, the British Hairdressing Awards are based on photographic entries that demonstrate the skills and talents of the entrant. All entries are judged by an extensive, distinguished and experienced panel of credible individuals and the results collated by an independent firm of auditors.

Compered by leading media personality David Walliams with entertainment provided by chart topping Stooshe, guests from the world of hairdressing, fashion and media mingled at the prestigious event. Tonight saw three new members welcomed into the prestigious British Hairdressing Awards Hall of Fame as Northern Ireland Hairdresser of the Year, Kevin Kahan from Bangor, Scottish Hairdresser of the Year, Kay McIntyre from Dundee and Wales and South West Hairdresser of the Year, Ken Picton from Cardiff were recognised for winning their respective categories three times. After the awards ceremony, celebrations continued with attendees dancing the night away in the Ballroom, and if their tresses were feeling a little tired they made good use of the Schwarzkopf Professional OSIS Styling Pod.

The British Hairdressing Awards has significantly raised the profile of British hairdressing both in the UK and overseas. All the winners can enjoy an increased media profile and the biggest award winner of the night – British Hairdresser of the Year – is recognised throughout the world; with the recipient overnight becoming an ambassador for British hairdressing appearing on television, radio and in the national and consumer press.

“British hairdressing is renowned globally for its creativity and innovation, and with the British Hairdressing Awards we continue to recognise, reward and celebrate the best of British,” said Publishing Director of Hairdressers Journal International, Jayne Lewis-Orr. “The standard of entries in all categories this year was incredible and the judges had a really difficult job. Congratulations to all the finalists and winners, who truly are the best of British.”

The Winners of the 2013 British Hairdressing Awards

HJ’s British Hairdresser of the Year 2013 – Akin Konizi, HOB salons

Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year – Tomomi Naito, Eton Crop, London

Men’s Hairdresser of the Year – Kevin Luchmun, Toni & Guy, Covent Garden, London

Afro Hairdresser of the Year – Charlotte Mensah, Hair Lounge, London

Artistic Team of the Year – Mark Leeson Hair, Body and Mind, Mansfield, Nottinghamshire

Newcomer of the Year – Sophia Hilton, Brooks & Brooks, Holborn, London

Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year – Sharon Peake and Adam Bryant, Ethos Hairdressing, Manchester

London Hairdresser of the Year – Sean Dawson, HOB Salons, Camden

Southern Hairdresser of the Year – Seung-Ki Baek, Rush Hair, Epsom, Surrey

Eastern Hairdresser of the Year – Angelo Vallillo, Zullo & Holland, Nottingham

Midlands Hairdresser of the Year – James Whyte, Soul Hair, Chester, Cheshire

North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year – Michelle Rooney, Hooker & Young, Wynyard, Billingham

North Western Hairdresser of the Year – Adam Bryant, Ethos Hairdressing, Manchester

Wales & South West Hairdresser of the Year – Rachelle Simmonds and Dafydd Rhys Thomas, Ken Picton Salon, Cardiff

Scottish Hairdresser of the Year – Brian Gallagher, Gallagher Horner Hair, Bishopbriggs, Glasgow

Northern Ireland Hairdresser of the Year – Sharon Dow, Kevin Kahan, Bangor

For press enquiries on the British Hairdressing Awards please contact Alison Jameson or Lauren Martin at Alison Jameson Consultants on + 44 (0)131 621 7210, fax + (0) 44 131 621 7215 or email;