Skip navigation
Skip navigation
You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser.

The British Hairdressing Awards
Monday 27th November 2017
The Grosvenor Hotel, London

Winners and finalists will be available for interview, or studio items.

Now in its 33rd year, The British Hairdressing Awards celebrates and showcases the country’s finest hairdressing, recognising and rewarding the creative talents in all areas of the industry. There are national and regional awards for all areas of styling, with hundreds of creative and catwalk worthy looks being showcased during the glitzy ceremony.

The awards has launched the careers of some of the UK’s best known stylists - from the awards’ first ever winner Trevor Sorbie, to Charles Worthington and Nicky Clarke. A win at the ceremony can also lead to high street success: Lee Stafford launched his popular Boots range after clutching the gong in 2001, whilst TIGI founder Anthony Mascolo was able to capitalise on his styling range after winning in the 80s.

Household favourites such as Andrew Barton, Lisa Shepherd and Leo Bancroft also rocketed into the limelight after success at the awards, becoming regulars on Ten Years Younger, This Morning, and X Factor. Lorraine stylist Jamie Stevens has also been recognised at the awards and is nominated again this year for British Hairdresser of the Year.

As well as creating household names, the awards also provides a platform for the independent salons that make up the British high street - a win can skyrocket a local business. Gone are the days when hairdressing was a career choice for those not excelling at school. Hairdressing offers unrivalled career opportunities, as a hairdresser you can travel the world, teach, set up your own business all the while providing a personal and creative service. From young salon owners sky rocketing to fame via Instagram (Sophia Hilton) to those trading in salon life here to set trends as stylist to the Kardashians (Chris Appleton) when it comes to hairdressing the sky is the limit!

British Hairdresser of the Year Nominees 2017
Sally Brooks
Darren Ambrose
Errol Douglas
Mark Hayes
Gary Hooker & Michael Young
Eugene Souleiman
Angelo Seminara
Jamie Stevens

Full list of awards finalists here


For further information, images, interviews or to come along to the awards event please contact Laura Glazebrook @ LWPR on 01858 419668 or email

This press release was distributed by ResponseSource Press Release Wire on behalf of LWPR (Louise Wood PR) in the following categories: Men's Interest, Leisure & Hobbies, Women's Interest & Beauty, for more information visit