Skip navigation
Skip navigation
You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser.
Travel Media Awards 2019

The Travel Media Awards, in association with Malta Tourism Authority, is now open for entries. The 2019 awards continues to recognise the hugely influential role the travel media industry plays in the holiday and travel business decision-making process, and brings with it this year a new venue and revised categories.

For the first time, the ceremony will take place at the five-star Landmark London on 21 October, bringing a fresh, new look to the prestigious event.

A new Specialist Travel Writer of the Year award has been introduced for 2019 to recognise travel writers who specialise in a specific topic, region or country. Other changes include Blogger and Vlogger of the Year being merged into one award, the Customer Magazine of the Year now including print and online to honour companies with an editorial section or online content marketing, and the Travel Trade Publication of the Year being separated into two awards, one for print and one for online.

Giles Harper, co-founder of the Travel Media Awards and managing director of Travega, said, “We’re excited to be launching the fifth annual Travel Media Awards and look forward to welcoming the very best of the UK’s travel media to our fabulous new venue, The Landmark.”

Matthew Jackson, joint co-founder of the Travel Media Awards and managing director of APL Media Limited, said: “The event continues to shine the spotlight on the exceptional talent in the travel media industry, and this year the revised categories offer new opportunities for entrants too.”

The categories cover a wide range of disciplines and media, including: national newspaper travel sections (with separate categories for tabloid and broadsheets) consumer travel magazines, travel trade titles, photography, and the increasingly influential travel blogging and vlogging sectors.

The Awards are judged by some of the UK’s most influential travel industry figures, alongside leading travel writers and editors.

Key dates for the 2019 Travel Media Awards:

4 March — awards launch, open for entries
23 May — entries close
27 August — announce recipient of Special Contribution Award
2 September — announce finalists
21 October — the ceremony

For more information, visit or contact:
T: 020 3818 5600

Notes for Editors

The Travel Media Awards was launched in 2015 to celebrate the very best of the travel media sector. Open to all travel writers, broadcasters and photographers, the awards acts as a true barometer of the travel media sector. The Travel Media Awards is owned and operated under a joint venture agreement between Travega and APL Media Limited.

The 2018 awards culminated in a glittering ceremony attended by more than 300 travel media and industry professionals; the event also saw travel editor of The Sun Lisa Minot receive the Special Contribution Award.

APL Media Limited works across the travel and lifestyle sectors in a number of media, from print through to events. APL Media produces the award-winning National Geographic Traveller (UK), National Geographic Traveller Food, Postcards, and a series of lifestyle newspaper supplements, apps and websites.

Travega offers a wide range of travel marketing and sales solutions for both the leisure and business travel sectors; these include creating and delivering sponsorship revenues for some of the leading events in the UK travel industry, including the ABTA Travel and UKinbound Conventions, alongside the management of events for other leading travel brands.

This press release was distributed by ResponseSource Press Release Wire on behalf of APL Media (Absolute Publishing) in the following categories: Entertainment & Arts, Travel, Media & Marketing, for more information visit