Skip navigation
Skip navigation
You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser.

Press Release: London, UK
27 May 2020
Small Cap Awards

Small Cap Awards 2020 Shortlist Announcement

Virtual Awards Webinar Event to take place on Thursday 25th June

The Small Cap Awards is an annual opportunity to recognise outstanding achievement focused on smaller quoted companies. The Shortlist of nominees has now been confirmed.

The winners in each category will be announced on Thursday 25th June at the Awards Webinar and will celebrate success for UK listed Small Caps.

The Small Cap Awards Dinner was originally scheduled to take place at the Montcalm Hotel on the 25th of June.

Under the circumstances however, it was felt that a virtual awards ceremony would provide the best available opportunity to celebrate the best of the UK Small Cap community.

Since its founding in mid-2012, the Small Cap Network has successfully enabled the small and micro-cap sector to meet, share updates and insights and foster new ideas and opportunities. The awards have always shone a light on the best companies and individuals in the community across eleven categories.

The Small Cap Awards committee is delighted to have the continued support of Hamlins LLP as headline partners for the awards.

Daniel Bellau, Corporate Finance Partner and Head of Corporate at Hamlins LLP said:
“We are delighted and proud to be the long term sponsors of this event. As specialists working with small cap quoted companies we consider that , right now, it is more important than ever that we recognise the very best that small cap community has to offer.”

The shortlist has been selected by a judging panel comprised of leaders in the Small Cap sector and is Chaired by Claire Noyce, CEO at Hybridan LLP. The full judging panel and award categories and shortlisted companies can be viewed here:

The winners in each category will be announced on Thursday 25th June at the Awards Webinar to be held in London and will celebrate success for UK listed Small Caps.


Notes to Editors

The eighth annual Small Cap Awards Webinar will take place from 4pm on Thursday 25 June 2020 in London. To register for a place please go to the web address below:

2020 Award categories:

IPO of the Year


Brickability Group


Argentex Group PLC


Pebble Group

Company of the Year

Yourgene Health


Renalytix AI

SDI Group


Judges Scientific

Executive Director of the Year

Matt Jones - CEO of Blancco Technology Group

Giulio Cerroni - CEO of Ixico

Lyn Rees - CEO of Yourgene Health

Jennifer Winter - CEO of Animalcare

Peter Harrison - CEO of Bioventix

David Cicurel - CEO of Judges Scientific

Transaction of the Year

Centralnic Group - Team Internet

Rockrose Energy - Marathon Oil and Marathon West of Shetland Limited

Kape Technologies - Private Internet Access

Amryt Pharma - Aegerion

Totally - Greenbrook Healthcare

Inspiration Healthcare acquisition of Vio Holdings

Technology Company of the Year

SRT Marine Systems

Oxford Metrics



Blancco Technology Group


Innovative Financing of the Year

Yu Group PLC

Simec Atlantis Energy

1pm PLC

Symphony Environmental

Impact Company of the Year

Good Energy

Eden Research

ITM Power

Inspired Energy

Jubilee Metals


Analyst of the Year

Kartik Swaminathan, Arden Partners

Peter McNally, Panmure Gordon

Jens Lindqvist, Investec

Lorne Daniel, Finn Cap

Kai Korschelt, Canaccord Genuity

George O'Connor, Stifel London

Journalist of the Year

Simon Thompson - Investors Chronicle

Michael Taylor - Investors Chronicle

Mark Shapland - Evening Standard

Joanne Hart - Mail on Sunday

Emma Agyemang - Financial Times

Hannah Godfrey - Professional Adviser

UK Smaller Companies Fund Manager of the Year

ASI UK Smaller Companies - Harry Nimmo

JPM UK Smaller Companies - Georgina Brittain and Katen Patel

M&G Smaller Companies - Garfield Kiff and Rory Alexander

Invesco UK Smaller Companies Equity (UK) - Jonathan Brown

TM Cavendish AIM B - Paul Mumford

Kames UK Smaller Companies - Elaine Morgan

VCT Manager of the Year

Amati AIM VCT PLC – Dr. Paul Jourdan, David Stevenson, Anna MacDonald

Unicorn AIM VCT PLC - Chris Hutchinson

Octopus AIM VCT 2 PLC - Kate Tidbury

Maven Income and Growth VCT 1 PLC - Bill Nixon

Seneca Growth Capital VCT PLC - John Davies

Hargreave Hale AIM VCT 1 - Oliver Bedford

The judging panel consists of:

(Chair) Claire Noyce Managing Partner and Chief Executive at Hybridan

Dale Bellis
Director of the AiM Investment Team at Maven Capital Partners UK LLP
James Faulkner
Editor-in-Chief at Master Investor
Guy Feld
Fund Manager at Canaccord Genuity Fund Management
Richard Gill
Head of Research at Align Research
Connor Grimes
Investment Manager at Seneca Partners
Helen James
Partner, HW Fisher
Ms Alexandra Lindsay
Investment Director, Calculus Capital
Judith Mackenzie
Partner & Head of Public Equity at Downing LLP
Anand Sambasivan
Co-founder & CEO of PrimaryBid Limited
Dominic Weller
Fund Manager at Octopus Investments
Simone Westerhuis
Managing Director, LGB Investments
Gervais Williams
Head of Equities at Premier Miton Group plc.
Twitter @sce_club #smallcap2020
For more information contact:
Registration Queries:
Other queries:

About the Sponsors:

About Hamlins LLP
Hamlins LLP is a commercial law firm renowned for its industry expertise, entrepreneurial approach, and quality lawyers who are recognised leaders in their fields. We have deep market knowledge of the media, digital, real estate, sport, retail and leisure industries.

For more information, go to

About Master Investor
Master Investor Ltd. is a UK based investment media and events company, backed by visionary entrepreneur, Jim Mellon, amongst the top 10% in the Sunday Times Rich List.
In today’s world of ever greater uncertainty, a growing number of people are taking their financial future into their own hands. Master Investor is there to provide private investors with the intellectual stimulation necessary to make that journey.

For more information, go to

This press release was distributed by ResponseSource Press Release Wire on behalf of Master Investor in the following categories: Environment & Nature, Personal Finance, Business & Finance, Medical & Pharmaceutical, Media & Marketing, Public Sector, Third Sector & Legal, Manufacturing, Engineering & Energy, Computing & Telecoms, Construction & Property, for more information visit